Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I was curious that would the spell "bestow curse" stack with any other curses?

Would it stack if two "bestow curses" were to be casted on one given target?

Is it the same ruling for "greater bestow curse"?

share|improve this question
up vote 12 down vote accepted

Yes, they stack, but only with curses from different sources and spells.

Notice that the modifiers in the sample effects of bestow curse are untyped modifiers. Untyped modifiers from different sources stack, according to the rules on modifier stacking:

In most cases, modifiers to a given check or roll stack (combine for a cumulative effect) if they come from different sources and have different types (or no type at all), but do not stack if they have the same type or come from the same source (such as the same spell cast twice in succession). — "Modifiers, Stacking",

So this means that:

  • The modifiers of bestow curse will not stack with another casting of bestow curse (assuming you choose the same effect of course).
  • The modifiers from casting bestow curse twice and choosing different curses will both work, because they are modifying different things.
  • These are equally true for greater bestow curse with another casting of greater bestow curse.
  • The effects of bestow curse and greater bestow curse will stack with each other.
share|improve this answer
Does this same rule also apply to Pathfinder? – BaseHobo Apr 14 at 13:37
@BaseHobo Sounds like a new question. :) – SevenSidedDie Apr 14 at 14:11

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.