Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I have a guy in my group who seems hellbent that if he grabs an ally, he can teleport with them. Couldn't find anything in the PHB so I'm asking if anyone has any hard evidence against this. Really getting frustrating. Thanks.

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

You can only bring a grabbed ally along when you teleport if you have teleportation as a movement speed, not if you use a power to teleport.

From the Rules Compendium, p244 (emphasis mine):

Move a Grabbed Target
Action: Standard action
Strength Check: The creature makes a Strength check opposed by the Fortitude of the target it is grabbing. The check automatically succeeds if the target is a helpless ally of the creature.
Success: The creature can move up to half its speed and pull the target with it. The creature's movement doesn't provoke an opportunity attack from the grabbed target, but the movement otherwise provokes opportunity attacks as normal.

Moving a grabbed target is a standard action. Unless you have teleportation as a movement speed and therefore don't need to activate a power to teleport, you can't bring anyone with you; this is because you can't take two different actions simultaneously.

share|improve this answer
Thanks mate, missed that one. – Seiat Dec 15 '13 at 17:28
Would this also apply if the teleport power is a move action? – Seiat Dec 15 '13 at 17:39
Yes, it still applies then. Moving a grabbed target is itself an action. You can use an action to activate a teleportation power, or you can use an action to move a grabbed target, but you can't do both at the same time. If you have teleportation as a movement mode, then you just move a grabbed a target, and teleportation just happens to be how you move. – Oblivious Sage Dec 15 '13 at 18:05
Ahh! Perfect. That works. – Seiat Dec 15 '13 at 18:35
There's also many feats, powers, and features that allow you to teleport adjacent allies along with you when you teleport. Several of them are specific to Fey Step. In those cases, you don't even need to grab your ally first. – webbcode Jan 30 '15 at 16:06

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.