Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If I take a feat that gives me a certain origin but I already have a specific racial origin, do they stack or is my racial origin replaced?

Consider this example. Calistar the Eladrin is a fey creature, but he wants to take the Haunting Shade feat.

Haunting Shade

Your origin changes to shadow if it isn't already, so you are considered a shadow creature for all effects related to creature origin.

Is he a shadow creature, or both shadow and fey?

share|improve this question
up vote 13 down vote accepted

Yes, Calistar now has an Origin of Shadow.

The Rules Compendium p60 defines origin. It doesn't say it explicitly, but the implication is that creatures normally only have one origin, much like they have one level, one race.

The flavor text in Dragon Magazine #387 also strongly favors this interpretation, it says that to take this feat a character needs to give up his soul.

share|improve this answer

I would interpret that specific case as "Your origin changes to shadow..." He is a shadow creature, and no longer a fey.

share|improve this answer
I like both answers! – Peter Seckler Sep 28 '10 at 16:43
@peterseckler The other one is good but only talks about implications and interpretations. This one is the definitive answer to me. – Zachiel Jan 14 '13 at 22:53

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.