Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I understand the ruling on epic spells per day, and how many epic spells know, but does the 'seed' itself count as a spell itself that takes up one of the slots? I am reading Epic Spellcasting in the SRD and I am not quite sure if it counts as a spell known or not?

I am a level 25 sorcerer.

share|improve this question
up vote 11 down vote accepted

It does not count as a spell

Seeds are used only during the development part of creating an epic spell and have no effect on how many epic spells you may prepare or cast, though they are fundamental part of creating an epic spell or spells.

As far as I can tell (checking here and more specifically here) there's no actual 'seeds known'; seeds are not learned, simply used. With that in mind there may be a contradicting source from outside of the SRD, and certain epic prestige classes interact with specific seeds (for example, the Netherese Arcanist from the Player's Guide to Faerun)

share|improve this answer
+1 for answering the direct question. As a suggestion, you could extend this by explaining how seeds are gained/known/tracked. – SevenSidedDie Dec 17 '13 at 22:51
As far as I'm aware, they're not! That said I expanded my answer with that information. – Lord_Gareth Dec 17 '13 at 22:59
I understood it the same way. Seeds are mostly a way of letting the DM figure out how to set the DC, reach, and limitations of an Epic spell. – Roflo Dec 18 '13 at 18:04
I'm guessing Seeds are the sort of thing you can just look up from the proper tomes you keep lying around the arcane laboratory you undoubtedly would need and have access to as an epic-level caster trying to make a new spell. – Cobalt Feb 14 '14 at 22:26

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.