- An elf summons a creature
- The summoned creature misses with an attack.
Is the elf allowed to reroll the attack using his Elven Accuracy racial power?
Inspired by a post on EnWorld.
Yes, the elf is allowed to reroll the summoned creature's attack.
The Rules Compendium p121, the "Attacks and Checks" portion of the Summoning power description says,
Thus the summoned creature's attack is actually the elf's attack and he can benefit from his Elven Accuracy.
It doesn't matter who makes the attack. It matters who makes the roll. (important distinction to be had here.) Elven Accuracy simply allows a re-roll. It does not actually require you be the one to make the attack. However, you cannot re-roll someone else's dice, only your own.
In the case of a summoned creature, you are making the roll, therefore you can re-roll it, therefore Elven Accuracy applies perfectly.
Given the personal keyword on the power, as a GM I would rule that only attacks made by the elf can be re-rolled. Even though the elf should be spending their action on the summoned creatures (most summoned creatures attacks use the standard action of their master), the summoned creature is a not the elf and therefore can't benefit from a personal power.
On the other hand if a leader (such as a Warlord) gave the elf the ability to make an attack on the leader's turn and the elf missed the attack, I would allow the re-roll since in this case it is the elf making the attack directly (i.e. fitting within the personal keyword of the racial power).