Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The text in the rule book states that Spirits of Man have the power:

Innate Spell (any one spell known by the summoner; Force is limited to the spirit's Magic)

The question is whether spells taken as Alchemical Preparations count as "spells known by the summoner". I feel that the answer is probably yes, due to the fact that it still refers to "spells" when describing the process of creating Alchemy, and also this line in the "Choose a Spell" section of the Alchemy rules:

Spells used in preparations are different versions of the Sorcery spells listed on p. 283, but have the same effect, Drain Value, keywords, and so on as those spells. You learn the alchemical versions of these spells separately from Sorcery spells, but the Karma cost is the same.

Are there any definitions of what constitutes a "Spell" for this purpose, or other rules that clarify the situation?

share|improve this question
up vote 2 down vote accepted

As a disclaimer, I have yet to find explicit wording but here is what I've extrapolated from the book:

Under the description for "Innate Spell" it says

To use this power effectively, the critter has to have the Spellcasting skill.

Since it relies on the Spellcasting Skill, I do not believe and Alchemical Preparation counts as that relates to the Alchemy skill, and they are very specifically separated for learning them by skill (spells, rites, and alchemy). The Spellcasting Skill also specifically states knowing how to channel Mana. So...

No given creature should have Innate Spell for an Alchemical Preparation

share|improve this answer
This seems like a sensible conclusion to me. Thank you very much. – Big Luke Jan 7 '14 at 4:24

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.