Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Say that I'm in the midst of a battle, and I know that there's an Invisible and Hidden creature somewhere. Am I allowed to use a power that says "Target: One creature" on a random square in an attempt to hit the hidden creature? Is it enough for me to have a target in mind, or does the location need to be explicitly known first?

The Rules Compendium (p221) seems to imply that you can just pick a square and guess, but I'm not sure if that applies to all attacks or just powers that use blast/burst.

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted


Unfortunately I don't have access to the Rules Compendium but in the core, it says in a sidebar:

Pick a Square and Attack: Choose a square to attack, using whatever information you’ve gleaned so far about the target’s location. Roll the attack normally (taking the –5 penalty for attacking a creature that has total concealment). If you pick the wrong square, your attack automatically misses, but only the DM knows whether you guessed the wrong square or your attack just missed.

Now, where this gets hazy is if this is just a way to launch after effects. I don't believe there's a rule saying you can't, but it's the miss effects that really make this questionable. But ultimately that's up to your DM.

share|improve this answer
That's pretty much the same as what it says in the Rules Compendium; I have a feel it doesn't get more specific then that (unless I've missed some errata somewhere). I hadn't considered miss effects; generally when going creature hunting I'll only be using at-will powers though so I don't think it'll come up too much in practice. – Clamburger Jan 7 '14 at 7:47

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.