Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The white-haired witch needs to spend a standard action to maintain the grapple at the beginning of the next round, if she succeeded in hitting (and thus grappling) a target, and the target failed to break free. - But what if an Attack of Opportunity is provoked before her next round? Can more of her hair (eyebrows?) stretch out and attack? With combat reflexes and high dexterity, at high levels she'd be threatening a large area. What if she hit say 3 enemies (1 on her turn and then 2 AOs since), all now grappled (while she's still not in the grappled condition), now it's her turn again. Her spending a standard action to maintain the grapple, would that be for all 3 or just the one she grappled on her turn? Or would each new grapple end the old one?

"When a white-haired witch grapples a foe in this way, she does not gain the grappled condition."

I can't see anything RAW keeping her from grappling more people.

share|improve this question

3 Answers 3

You can grapple multiple targets, but only until your turn.

Looking at the rules, I see nothing that disagrees with your idea that the witch can start extra grapples with her hair using attacks of opportunity while she grapples someone else. As you note, it takes a standard action to keep someone grappled, which means that unless you find a way of generating extra standard actions, you can only keep one opponent grappled once it's your turn. The others go free.

share|improve this answer

Whilst there is nothing in RAW keeping her from grappling more people the rules for grappling are fairly comprehensive, including rules for multiple opponents. The rules state several people can gang up to grapple one person, or can assist a defender being grappled to break free, but there are no rules about one person grappling multiple people.

Whilst this is my opinion, because there is nothing in RAW that I can find, if I was your DM, I would rule that all of your available hair was being used to grapple the opponent and that although you do not gain the grappled condition, whilst grappling someone with your hair you cannot make an attack of opportunity with your hair. You can still attack with something else.

I would also rule that the only way you could grapple multiple people is to have one grappled by your hair, and a second grappled by you. The second would cause you to gain the grappled condition.

Whilst none of that is in RAW, I cannot find anything in RAW to state how it should be ruled either way and as such it comes down to your DM to make a ruling on how to handle it (unless someone more observant than me can find something). This is quite obscure though, so I think you'll have to go with common sense.

share|improve this answer

Given that the hair is magickal and regrows instantly, I really can't see any built in restriction about dividing it into as many strands as you want. Obviously you can't maintain more than one grapple but you can impede many people at once under the right circumstances.

This is quite important as for instance, with greater grapple, which makes maintaining a move action, you can then keep a person trapped as a move action with one strand of hair and attack them as a standard action with another.

This is effective and needs good design but is hardly overpowered.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.