Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The Rules Compendium (and Player's Handbook) provides two examples of how to use a Close Blast 3. alt text and alt text

Where w is the wizard casting Thunderwave (for example). These are the options my group has used. A recent rereading of the rules has led us to ask if the below is valid.

alt text

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 15 down vote accepted

Yes, that's valid. As long as one of the blast's squares is adjacent to your character, it's a legal placement.

A blast fills an area adjacent to you that is a specified number of squares on a side.

Your example is the specified number of squares (three), and it is adjacent to the caster.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.