Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I've read How Does the Master Craftsman feat work? but I'm having difficulty with some of it.

I want to make sure I'm doing this right. Let's say I have a rogue who wants to craft wondrous items.

  • At level 5 he takes master craftsman (requires minimum of 5 ranks in craft)
  • At level 7 he takes craft wondrous item (next possible feat level)
  • He wants to craft a Belt of Incredible Dexterity +2

    Construction Requirements
    Craft Wondrous Item, Cat's Grace; Cost 2,000 gp (+2), 8,000 gp (+4), 18,000 gp (+6)

  • First he pays the 2,000 gp

  • Then we assume 4 days have passed (1d/1,000gp of market price)
  • Then he rolls his check to see if he suceeded:

    1d20 + 7 (maxed out craft) + 2 (master craftsmen) + 3 (misc modifier for being a class skill) + 2 (intelligence modifier) = 1d20 + 14

  • His DC is

    5 + 8 (caster level of item) + 5 (for not being able to cast cat's grace) = 18

  • It is reasonable that this character can 'take 10' for a roll of 24 vs DC 18 = success


  1. Are all of these calculations correct?
  2. Does a +4 or +6 item just costing more money and time? (same CL)
  3. As a rogue can I use a scroll to help lower a DC level and use a Use Magic Device check for a success on the scroll use
  4. Can I use a wizard friend to cast the spell to lower the DC?
  5. Does that make the earliest level for a non caster 7 to craft magical items?
share|improve this question
    
Would anyone who understands Pathfinder items & crafting care to fix up the quote describing the belt? It appears to have redundancy in price and doesn't match up to the D20PFSRD page - I wonder if it might be simultaneously describing the bought & crafted versions. –  doppelgreener Jan 12 at 4:24
    
Yes, I believe it is describing the price (market value) and the cost (to craft) which is equal to half the market value. –  Nupraptor Jan 12 at 5:36
    
Fixed the quote by removing the cost, as it doesn't appear relevant. –  ladenedge Jan 14 at 21:33
    
possible duplicate of How does the Master Craftsman feat work? –  DuckTapeAl Feb 28 at 6:37

2 Answers 2

up vote 7 down vote accepted

It is reasonable that this character can 'take 10' for a roll

Yes you can always take 10 when not in combat or your life is not in danger.

Are all of these calculations correct?

They seem to be in order.

Does a +4 or +6 item just costing more money and time? (same CL)

In the case of belts / headbands, this seems to be the case. Note that Weapons and Armor have different rules (3x modifier).

Can I use a scroll? Can I use a Wizard friend?

Take a look at the Cooperative Crafting text here. The basic answer is yes.

The details are:

  1. They must be present for the whole time.
  2. They are casting that spell each day during the process.
  3. If they are an NPC, they are charging each day.

Clearly if you wanted to do this with scrolls, you could, but you would need to expend the scroll every day you are crafting. At 150gp * 4 days, that's pretty expensive.

Does that make the earliest level for a non caster 7 to craft magical items?

  • There are classes with odd bonus feat progressions such that you could get two feats at level 5 and spend them both. For example, the Psychic Warrior has this.
  • I guess you could also "not take" a feat at 3rd level and then spend them both at 5th level. I'm not sure if there are explicit prohibitions against this.
  • There's also the concept of "re-training" of feats as allowed by some DMs (see comments)
  • In general 7th level is the minimum for magical crafting without magical crafting abilities.
share|improve this answer
    
I know 3.5 explicitly said you had to take feats the level you got them, you couldn't save them. Almost certainly is stated somewhere in Pathfinder too, not to mention its implied by the way you get them ("*At Xth level, *) –  KRyan Jan 14 at 5:14
3  
@KRyan However, you can take a throwaway feat at 3 and retrain it at 5, assuming your DM is using the retraining rules. You don't have to retrain a feat into something you could have taken at that level; once you've taken the feat you can basically ignore which level you got it at, so you can get two level 5 feats by retraining a level 1 or 3 feat. –  Yamikuronue Jan 14 at 17:30

As to question 2 I see all magic items as having the same level restrictions for each iteration of an item the caster level increases by 3. So a cloak of charisma +2 requires caster level 8 for the +2, 11 for a +4, and 14 for a +6 and so on. If you look at the NPC guide this seems to be carried into the NPC's presented there in because several of the NPC adventurers in that guide who are level 20 have magic items which are only a +2 or +3 while killing the things which would allow an adventurer to reach that level would give them hundreds of thousands of gold with which to buy magic items. Add to that the game accounts for 20th level wizards or clerics making magic items in any metropolis and it leaves one with the impression that a major wondrous item obviously requires a higher caster level to create than a minor one. As it states in the core book logic must dictate a GM's choice in all things when it comes to pathfinder they leave rules vague concerning a lot of things in the system for this very reason. So that a GM and the players can shape the rules to there own version of logic.

share|improve this answer
1  
-1: Unintelligible, and what little I was able to make out, what I think it said is wrong. Specifically, there is no blanket rate of +3 CL requirement per "iteration" of an item, and there is no meaningful relationship between what caster level a crafter needs to be to make an item, and what character level an NPC needs to be to own it. –  Matthew Najmon Sep 27 at 22:42
    
Magic arms and armor require you to be 3 levels higher for each +1 added which would be for each iteration. This post is only unintelligible if you don't understand how to read English. As to the part about NPC's and their level not dictating what they can own that is correct but if an NPC does not have items equaling at least half the amount of character gold value per level there has to be a reason and the NPC codex has no such correlation which was the point of that section of the post. –  user16256 Oct 2 at 6:17
    
The +3 levels per +1 bonus on CMA&A is a specific rule for enhancement bonuses on weapons and armor. It is not a blanket rule for all magic items. It doesn't even apply to all weapon and armor enchantments, but only to ones priced as enhancement bonus (including actual enhancement bonuses).As for NPCs having stuff, "there has to be a reason", in the context of an article about RPGs, is about the biggest red flag possible that you're talking out of the wrong orifices. RPG rules only ever have to have one reason, and that's because some designer made an arbitrary decision. –  Matthew Najmon Oct 2 at 16:21
    
@MatthewNajmon To be fair, a good rule has to have more reason than that. 'Because it's fun' might be good enough for some system paradigms though. –  the dark wanderer Nov 17 at 4:01

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.