Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Can my friend, who is a swordmage, and I, who am a battlemind, both have the same enemy marked at the same time?

I tried to read the rules and look up the answer but I am pretty new at D&D so I am having trouble.

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted

No, a creature can only be marked by one opponent at a time.

From the Rules Compendium, p232 (emphasis mine):

- The creature takes a -2 penalty to attack rolls for any attack that doesn't include the marking creature as a target.
- A creature can be subjected to only one mark at a time, and a new mark supersedes an old one.
- A mark ends immediately when its creator dies or falls unconscious.

A creature can only be marked by one person at a time. When a 2nd person marks the creature, the 1st person's mark is removed.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.