Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I was going over the specs for one of my potential characters and I love the spell Enlarge Person. It's insane. As a Cleric under Cayden Cailean, my character can use that spell, but a standard Cleric wouldn't be able to. The question is: can my character use a wand of Enlarge Person?

share|improve this question

It's on your personal spell list, so yeah

Any spell your class has access to, or that you can cast natively, you can use a wand of (except in specific cases that call out the lack of availability, such as specialist wizard). Of course, you can always make a Use Magic Device check to try and use the wand even if you can't use it normally.


From the Wand entry:

Activation: Wands use the spell trigger activation method, so casting a spell from a wand is usually a standard action that doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity. (If the spell being cast has a longer casting time than 1 action, however, it takes that long to cast the spell from a wand.) To activate a wand, a character must hold it in hand (or whatever passes for a hand, for non-humanoid creatures) and point it in the general direction of the target or area. A wand may be used while grappling or while swallowed whole.

From the Spell Trigger entry:

Spell Trigger: Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it's even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell. This is the case even for a character who can't actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin. The user must still determine what spell is stored in the item before she can activate it. Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

Note that strictly speaking, by the above wording, you can use wands of anyone's domain spells. I do not suggest trying this, as you may get hit by the book.

share|improve this answer
On the last point, I grok that as specifically the item wielder's class--e.g. Clr A has enlarge person as a domain spell so Clr A's cleric class allows using a wand of it, but Clr B doesn't have it as a domain spell, so Clr B's cleric class doesn't allow using a wand of it. It's actually a rather elegant answer to the question of whether a D&D 3.5 Clr can use wands of domain spells (which wasn't said outright until the Rules Compendium). – Hey I Can Chan Jan 13 '14 at 15:21
I think the "anyone's domain" might be too broad given the whole issue with archetypes. Archetype are basically "specialists", "domains" & "bloodlines" for other classes and by that wording a Ranger whose archetype never gets spell access could still use wands. This sounds like the exact type of thing that needs an errata for clarification. This seems like a pretty obvious clarification – Gates VP Jan 14 '14 at 1:42
But RAW doesn't deal in what it needs, only in what is. If an errata comes out I'll gladly edit the answer; in the meantime, the RAW on the broad wording stands. Talk to Paizo, not me >.> – Lord_Gareth Jan 14 '14 at 2:34

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.