Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I am getting ready to run the second session of my Leverage game.

One thing I have noticed is that when the GM rolls a 1, it provides the players with an Opportunity. The only use I can find for an Opportunity is that they are required to trigger some Traits.

In my 2-player game, neither PC has a Trait triggered by an Opportunity.

It seems that I am missing something? These 1s mean something story-wise, but they do not contribute to the main economy of Plot Points at all. This means that the 1s I roll become meaningless.

Is there something I am missing? For example:

  • Is there another effect of the GM rolling a 1?
  • Is there some other use for Opportunities?

Is this something other GMs have noticed? Is there some accepted way around it?

Note: I also have the Cortex-Plus Hacker's Guide (woo Kickstarter) and would be happy if there was some article in there that would point the way out of this problem...

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

You're in luck. The Cortex-Plus Hackers Guide has what you're looking for:

If the Gamemaster rolls a 1 on his dice, this is known as an Opportunity, and any player can spend a Plot Point to step an existing Complication back to a smaller size die. A d6 becomes a d4, and a d4 goes away. If the Gamemaster’s dice include multiple 1s, you may step back existing Complications by more than one step. The player still only pays a single Plot Point. Opportunities can also be used to activate Talents—see page 126 for more on Talent Activation. (p.118, "Action Roleplay: The Basics")

Also worth noting is that in Cortex Plus Heroic, an Opportunity lets you step up an existing Asset already established in the scene or create a stepped-up Resource. This might be a little too much for an Action-based game like Leverage, but it's worth considering.

share|improve this answer
    
Technically, in Heroic you can activate a Watcher-rolled opportunity to step up an existing asset or create a resource on the fly (page OM12), but there's no rule in the basic rulebook for stepping up a resource in this way. –  Zimul8r Jan 16 at 14:26
1  
Sorry, to clarify, you can create a "stepped-up" resource on the fly, but as near as I can tell, not step up an existing resource. –  Zimul8r Jan 16 at 14:35
add comment

I've only played Heroic, but according to the Hackers Guide (page 111), under Action there's a list of ways to use an opportunity. I won't copy the list here, since you already have the guide (and I encourage others to get a copy, it's an excellent resource). Also, page 194 details the Heroic rules for Watcher opportunity use.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.