Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The three Warhammer 40k RPGs (Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch) share a somewhat common ruleset, and I believe this question applies to all three.

Can I move through an ally in combat?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

I'd just treat it as a dodge roll to get by, at the better character's dodge, and count it as 2 squares instead of 1.

Looking in Deathwatch, I can find nothing to indicate otherwise. However, if one wanted to be thoroughly pedantic, one could declare engagement on the friend, and then disengage, making it a half-move or move followed by a disengage (which includes a half-move).

share|improve this answer
    
-1 - I think the Questioner is asking for a definitive rules answer which you did not provide. –  Pat Ludwig Oct 6 '10 at 19:35
    
Needed time to dig out books, and any answer after 3 days without answer, I felt some answer better than no answer at all. –  aramis Oct 7 '10 at 23:26
add comment
up vote 3 down vote accepted

The following response was from Mack Martin of Fantasy Flight Games:

This is a tricky question to answer, as the game isn't distinctly designed with battle mat play in mind. While a grid can certainly be useful in a game (and add some fun strategizing into combat) it would really depend on how much space a single square represents. In my games (and generally speaking) if a square was 3 or more meters then I would declare that you can move through allied squares without issue. If it were less (such as 1) then I would suggest that the character must go around. I would also say that if forced too, a character can squeeze through a space occupied by a friend (if each square is 1 meter) by spending 3 meters of move distance to get through.

3 metres per square feels like a lot of space, a 1 meter square, however, might get out of hand if a character can run 18 meters in a round. This is really something the GM and Players will have to figure out on their own.

None of this is official, obviously, but hopefully these guidelines can help your group come up with some suitable house rules for using a grid mat during your game sessions.

Not a firm answer, but it will have to do.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.