Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Combat Opening is a feat from Martial Power which says:

When you can make a melee basic attack against a target because of Combat Challenge, you can instead choose to let an ally make a melee basic attack against that target as a free action.

Does this cost an Immediate Action for me, or not? I can make a melee basic attack if the trigger is fulfilled several times in a round, if I spend the action, but I only have one Immediate Action.
So the real question is: when can I make a melee basic attack, if the trigger is activated, or when I actually spend the action?

share|improve this question
    
deleted my post since editing it would basically be copying the other answer given.... but in my defense, I was reading another question on this site a few days ago that mentioned you can only mark 1 creature at a time, but when I checked that in the rules I couldn't find that specified anywhere. Other than that I did answer both your questions, I said it would cost your immediate action for the round. and that since you only get 1 immediate action per round you can only use Combat Opening once in a round. –  MC_Hambone Jan 20 at 10:47
    
You said No, but half the reasoning was false, the other half already known. Jonathan Hobbs gave valid arguments for that No. –  András Jan 20 at 11:05

1 Answer 1

up vote 5 down vote accepted

What kind of action does this cost?

This uses an immediate action. When it says:

you can instead choose to let an ally make a melee basic attack against that target as a free action.

The free action is what your ally uses to perform the attack, not what you use to enact this effect. Enacting it still takes an immediate action.

This is just convention

All powers or effects which grant free actions to allies are worded this way. D&D 4e's authors love following convention in the core rulebooks, and this is just another instance of the same convention being used. A browse of the Shaman or Warlord power lists will turn up several occurrences of this same convention.

Consider, for instance, the Warlord's Hammer and Anvil power, an encounter power, which says:

One ally adjacent to the target makes a melee basic attack against it as a free action.

Or the Shaman's Ancient Warlord's Inspiration, a daily power, which says:

If an ally starts his or her turn adjacent to the spirit or in its space, as an immediate reaction you can allow that ally to make a basic attack as a free action.

These powers still take a standard action to use. There'd be absolutely no point to saying you use a free action to grant the attack, since you're already granting it as one of the side-effects of your standard action-costing power.

When can you use this?

So the real question is: when can I make a melee basic attack, if the trigger is activated, or when I actually spend the action?

You can use this when you can spend the action.

The trigger is:

When you can make a melee basic attack against a target because of Combat Challenge

You can only make a melee basic attack because of Combat Challenge if you actually use Combat Challenge (which takes an immediate interrupt) to grant you a melee basic attack. Then, instead of performing that melee basic attack, you let someone else do it instead.

This effect just modifies Combat Challenge. It doesn't grant your allies free attacks constantly.

share|improve this answer
    
The "instead" could apply to you spending and Immediate. –  András Jan 20 at 10:38
    
@Andras It doesn't. I've edited to address that interpretation more thoroughly. –  Jonathan Hobbs Jan 20 at 10:48
1  
It might help to frame combat challenge into a proper power card. What's happening here is that the effect line of the Combat Challenge power card (if one existed) is being replaced by "allow an ally to make an MBA". Acuatlly it is a power card see: wizards.com/dndinsider/compendium/… –  wax eagle Jan 20 at 13:35
2  
As a note- the reason why it's important to say that they can make an attack "as a free action" is because characters have a one free action attack per turn limit. So if a leader allowed an ally to make a free action attack, and then somehow Combat Challenge was invoked, they can't also make a free action attack from your Combat Opening/Combat Challenge combination. –  JLan Jan 20 at 16:22

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.