Recently in a game the issue arose of whether a Wizard is affected by his/her own casting of the Evard's Black Tentacles spell. We all agreed that both enemies and allies alike that are located within the area of effect are targeted by the tentacles' grapple attempts. However, what if the caster applies the spell to an area he/she is currently standing in, or if he/she moves into the area of effect? We could not agree on a ruling, and no one could find a rule in the books to settle the issue. In the interest of avoiding conflict and saving time, we decided to put the issue on the back-burner and allowed the Wizard to avoid the tentacles, however it would be helpful in future games to have a rules-as-written supported position.
- Anybody can ask a question
- Anybody can answer
- The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
Yes, Evard’s black tentacles affect anyone they can get their... tentacles... on
From the spell itself:
This does not leave room for excepting allies, including yourself. Area spells, by default, affect all in the area and do not let give you immunity. See Aiming a Spell – Area:
Note the lack of an (S) which would indicate that the caster can shape the area, and leave a square out of it.
Yes, the caster is affected by his own spell. The wording of the spell itself gives you everything you need to know. It specifically says:
Quotes are directly from the SRD on Black Tentacles, but I assume the spell description in the book is the same.
protected by Brian Ballsun-Stanton Feb 7 '14 at 7:25
Thank you for your interest in this question.
Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site.
Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?