Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Boots of Teleportation says:

Any character wearing this footwear may teleport three times per day, exactly as if he had cast the spell of the same name.

The spell says (highlighting mine):

This spell instantly transports you to a designated destination, which may be as distant as 100 miles per caster level. Interplanar travel is not possible. You can bring along objects as long as their weight doesn’t exceed your maximum load. You may also bring one additional willing Medium or smaller creature (carrying gear or objects up to its maximum load) or its equivalent (see below) per three caster levels.

Same thing with Helm of Teleportation. Both items have a CL of 9th, so that would mean 3 allies according to the spell. Do these items allow you to teleport the entire party of 4 allies (wearer / caster + 3 medium creatures) or only yourself?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 8 down vote accepted

Yes, you can. The boots state that you use them exactly as if you had used the spell teleportation. That means you gain all effects of the spell, exactly as if you had cast it on yourself, including the ability to take people with you.

As for how many people you can take, the spell allows for one medium creature (or lower) per three caster levels. If we check the boots we see they have a caster level of 9th, and so you can take 3 medium creatures or less with you, allowing you to take the entire party of 4 medium creatures. However, beware of encumbrance limits when hauling back treasure from a dungeon. You will probably want Heward's Handy Haversacks, Portable Holes, and similar carrying aids, to make sure you are not heavily encumbered.

share|improve this answer
    
Do not argue in comments. If you have a different opinion, post your own answer to the question. –  Brian Ballsun-Stanton Jan 28 at 7:53
    
If you're going to -1 my answer, please at least leave a comment as to why. –  Styphon Jan 31 at 23:49
    
There are no obligations or requirements to explain downvotes. Whomever downvoted you may choose to retain his/her privacy without any sense of moral opprobrium. –  Brian Ballsun-Stanton Jan 31 at 23:50
1  
@Styphon To prompt people to consider doing so. There's still no obligation; they can consider it and choose not to. –  doppelgreener Feb 1 at 1:20
1  
@BrianBallsun-Stanton No one's trying to compel downvote explainations here. "please at least" is a request for an explanation, and as such is a perfectly legitimate comment. –  Matthew Najmon Feb 5 at 22:24

No, the items give you (the “character wearing this footwear”) the effect of teleportation as if you had cast it (read: you “may teleport,” which is a summary of teleportation’s effect), but only you. They do not give you the ability to cast it as if it were the spell (i.e. choose the targeting yourself).

share|improve this answer
2  
@MatthewWalton and Styphon do not argue in comments. If you have different opinions, post your own answers. –  Brian Ballsun-Stanton Jan 27 at 8:55
    
@MatthewNajmon This has gotten pretty off topic and will be cleaned up shortly. Please rolling anything relevant into the answer. If you like you're welcome to chat in Role-playing Games Chat. –  C. Ross Jan 30 at 16:29
    
@KRyan, can u edit (or comment) why you believe that this 49K GP magic item doesn't benefit from its full caster level? That would seem to differ from the norm and go against the "generic vs specific" rule. If there is a specific reasoning I'd definitely love to know it. –  Ben-Jamin Feb 12 at 22:21
    
@Ben-Jamin Because the item does not allow you to cast or use teleport, it gives you the effect of teleport. Teleport’s effect is to teleport the creature; the spell allows you to target multiple creatures with the effect, but the item pretty clearly (though most likely mistakenly) applies the effect solely on you. –  KRyan Feb 12 at 23:58
    
Ok, maybe that's where I'm getting confused, where do you see the word "effect"? because the phrase I see is "exactly as (spell)" is that an errata or something? –  Ben-Jamin Feb 13 at 1:45

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.