Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Can a character attack while insubstantial? If so, are there any limits on the type of attack?

share|improve this question
up vote 8 down vote accepted

Yes a character can attack while insubstantial(DDI). There are no limits on the type of attack.

The Rules Compendium p226 notes that creatures who are insubstantial take half damage from all attacks. (This also includes ongoing damage). There are no other restrictions or limitations placed on the Insubstantial creature.

Compare this to Gaseous Form(DDI). A monster in gaseous form is insubstantial AND cannot make attacks unless specifically noted.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.