Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The book says about mastering a psychic discipline:

Once a psyker has purchased 8 psychic techniques from a single Discipline, he has attained mastery of that Discipline, and the Psy Rating for all Fettered Psychic Strength uses of techniques from that Discipline gain a +1 bonus. This has no additional effect on the Unfettered or Push Psy Rating of the psyker.

But the Telekinetic discipline only has 7 techniques, then how can you attain mastery of that discipline? (Telepathy has 9 techniques, and Divination 8)

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted

The Telekinetic discipline has 7 force techniques (as listed in Table 6-15) and a basic technique, Mind Over Matter (p171): this gives a total of 8 powers. They just haven't listed the basic technique in the table, which would lead to some confusion about there only being 7 powers.

share|improve this answer
Thanks! Now, Mind Over Matter has to be purchased? How do you acquire it? – Golokopitenko Feb 9 '14 at 15:17
You get Mind Over Matter when you acquire access to the Telekinesis Discipline; you get it for free as a "starting power". – Ardavion Feb 9 '14 at 15:52
So, when purchasing any of the Telekinetic Discipline abilities, right? – Golokopitenko Feb 9 '14 at 18:22
You should have picked the Telekinesis Discipline as part of character generation. From that, you get Mind Over Matter. This goes the same for the other basic techniques in the other disciplines; as long as you pick a discipline, you get the basic technique. Look at it being less about the "purchasing" of 8 powers, but "having" 8 powers leads to mastery; from that, as soon as you have all 8 powers, you've mastered Telekinesis. – Ardavion Feb 9 '14 at 21:12
Read the errata statement more carefully. It DOES count towards mastery. – Ardavion Feb 13 '14 at 9:22

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.