Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The Tome of Battle supplement for D&D 3.5 offers a Maneuver called Manticore Parry, which allows the initiator to redirect the attack to another target. But which targets are legal?

When you initiate this maneuver, you can attempt to block an enemy's melee attack that targets you and redirect it to another target adjacent to you. Make a melee attack roll. If your result is greater than your foe's attack roll, you bat aside the strike and direct it against a target of your choice that stands adjacent to you.


If you succeed in deflecting the attack, use the result of your opponent’s attack roll to determine if it strikes the new target.

Emphasis mine.

Assuming that the attacker is adjacent to the initiator, is the original attacker a legal target? Or does the specification of "a new target" imply the necessity of a third party being present?

share|improve this question
up vote 3 down vote accepted

It implies nothing.

The grammar of the sentence indicates that 'another target' is taking about a target besides you, the original victim of the attack. Manticore Parry indeed lets you cause your opponent to hit themselves with their own attacks.

share|improve this answer
"You cannot use it against unarmed attacks, natural weapons, or touch spells." is actually specified later in the description, but OK. :P – Ernir Feb 9 '14 at 20:42
Baaaah! I think I forgot about that part because my group houseruled it away the moment we saw it. It was too funny the other way >.> – Lord_Gareth Feb 9 '14 at 20:42

My reading is this: “new” target is contrasted with the “old” target, i.e. you. Thus, the “new” target cannot be the same as the original target (which would be a waste). Aside from that, the target may be anyone “of your choice that stands adjacent to you,” including the original attacker.

share|improve this answer
For the information of future readers: This is a perfectly good answer, but I only had one "accept" tag. – Ernir Feb 11 '14 at 9:15

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.