Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In Arcane Power the Bard lvl 1 Encounter Power Focused Sound says:

Until the end of your next turn, any attack against the target can score a critical hit on a roll of 18-20.

Does this mean that every attack made against the target is a crit on 18-20, or only 1?

If it is only 1 attack how do you determine which attack it is? It says any not first, theoretically if it really is just 1 of any 18-20 on the target then you don't have to choose the first one and save the choice of which one for whom ever would do the most damage.

Personally, I think it would be all attacks against the target that score a 18-20 on the attack roll would be critical hits.

share|improve this question
2  
4e rules should always be taken at face value and refer when necessary to keyword definitions in the rules. –  Joshua Aslan Smith Feb 10 at 14:23

1 Answer 1

up vote 3 down vote accepted

This means any attack through the end of your next turn can score a crit on a roll of 18-20.

There are a few variations of this phrasing for you to compare:

  • Until the end of your next turn, the next/first attack...
  • Until the end of your next turn, any attack...
  • Until the end of your next turn any attack you make...

Those are the typical ones. As you can see the phrasing in your power is in contrast to the "next" attack language. It's also in contrast to the third phrasing which applies only to your attacks.

This power enables both you and your allies towards more expansive criticals.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.