Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

As far as I know a warden marks his/her enemies in order to exploit Warden's Fury and Warden's Grasp immediate at-wills. But in Primal Power, page 95, Daily Evocations lvl 5, Lifebind Attack states:

Effect: While the target is marked by you, its penalty to attack rolls for the marked condition is -5 instead of -2.

Is there something I'm missing? Where is it stated that warden's mark acts the same as fighter's?

share|improve this question
up vote 11 down vote accepted

Marked is a condition in 4e. It can be applied by most Defender classes, and is how they're able to "defend". The definition for the Marked condition includes the following:

The creature takes a -2 penalty to attack rolls for any attack that doesn’t include the marking creature as a target. (Player's Handbook, p. 277)

This means that the Warden's mark is the same as the Fighter's because they are both marks. The Warden's class feature does not mimic the Fighter's class feature; instead both class features make use of the same non-class-specific "mark" mechanic (even Rogues can pick up powers which let them use marks).

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.