Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I understand that for normal animals this is necessary, but what about the animals linked to the player? All the rules I see say Handle becomes a free action and Push becomes a move action, but it is never said if the player still has to roll to command their animal companion.

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted


You do still have to roll. The important detail is that you get a +4 circumstance bonus to Handle Animal checks with your companion, and you only need to get a 10 (12 if the animal is wounded) to use tricks your animal knows.

That means you only need +7 in the ability between skill ranks and Charisma, and it becomes impossible to fail for tricks your animal knows (remember that a 1 is not an automatic failure on a skill check). For your animal companion, a handle is a free action, so it doesn't take any time from your character to do it.

For pushing it's a lot harder to make it a guaranteed success, but as you get bonus tricks for your animal companion it tends to come up pretty rarely in my experience. If you do have to do it, it's a move action for your companion, so you can do it and still cast a spell or attack something in a round.

share|improve this answer
Worth mentioning that druids get to handle their animal companion as a free action, and push it as a move action. – KRyan Feb 21 '14 at 0:25
@KRyan Good call. Thanks! – Tridus Feb 21 '14 at 0:29

Yes, you do. Since there's no rule saying you don't, then QED. I GM for a druid PC where we use that rule, and after a couple levels it doesn't come up much - it's basically "spend an action if you want the animal to do something totally freaky it wouldn't normally," which is fair.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.