Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Savage Worlds you run by rolling a d6 + your pace for movement. Can this d6 ace (otherwise known as explode)?

share|improve this question
What do you mean by "explode"? – LeguRi Oct 12 '10 at 12:38
It's a savage worlds concept. If you roll may in certain situations, you reroll and add the numbers. Dice can explode any number of times, giving them an infinite distribution. – C. Ross Oct 12 '10 at 12:50
The Savage Worlds term is "ace" – rjstreet Oct 12 '10 at 20:34
I believe the term 'explode' comes from Feng Shui, where if you have an adventure without an explosion you're doing something wrong. – GMJoe Jun 14 '12 at 2:23
up vote 22 down vote accepted

No. Only Trait and damage dice can ace—running dice cannot. (Savage Worlds Explorer's Edition, p. 57)

share|improve this answer
Yes, this is the correct answer as per the rules. – olajostein Oct 12 '10 at 12:14
Besides, consider how ridiculous it would be if the dice kept exploding making the character run half a mile in a single round! – Thunderforge Jul 2 '13 at 16:32

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.