Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I recently played an expert surgeon with the Healer trait and Professional Healer. That meant I rolled 1d12+3 for Healing checks.

So if I rolled my check as d12 (skill) and d6 (wild) and I rolled a 1 on the skill die and a 5 on the wild die, would my total be 5 (the unmodified wild die) or 8 (the wild die modified by my skill bonus)?

share|improve this question
up vote 15 down vote accepted

Yes - Wild Cards (like PCs) take the highest of the roll of the normal die and their Wild Die (often a d6, but can actually be larger based on various Edges) and apply skill/attribute/other modifiers as normal. So your total would be 8 in this case.

And yes, you can roll an Ace on the Wild Die (it can explode).

share|improve this answer
Clear answer. ZING! – Dr Rotwang Oct 13 '10 at 14:23

Always roll both dice at the same time (Trait and Wild). Take the highest result after Aces of the two. Then add your modifiers.

(skill:d12,wild:d6)+3 => (1,5)+3 => 5+3 => 8

Note this works for unskilled as well

(skill:d4,wild:d6)-2 => (1,2)-2 => 2-2 => 0
share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.