Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The Warlord feat Saving Inspiration reads as follows:

Benefit: When you use inspiring word, you can forgo any extra dice of healing granted by the power to instead grant the target a saving throw.

If a warlord uses Inspiring Word with this power, can the target choose not to make spend a healing surge but still make a saving throw?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 6 down vote accepted

No.

If they don't spend a surge, they don't get the extra healing. If they wouldn't get the extra healing, they can't take the save instead if the extra healing.

On a side note, Mark of Healing (from the Eberron Player's Guide) is vastly superior to Saving Inspiration if you can take it.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.