Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Assume I have a multi-class paladin, and have spent a feat to take Avatar of Vice (from Heroes of Shadow) as my level 29 daily power instead of whatever my class power was. The last part of this ability reads:

If you start your turn with no uses available of your dread smite power, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, you regain one use of that power.

If I don't have the dread smite power to begin with, will I gain that power regardless with a 5 or a 6 on a d6 roll at the start of my turn?

share|improve this question
up vote 4 down vote accepted

Short Answer: No.

Only if you have Dread Smite does thee d6 roll do anything. The power assumes you have Dread Smite, as you do not, you effectively stop reading the power.

share|improve this answer
The important part here is: "If you start your turn available of your dread smite power..." You don't have a dread smite power, so that section doesn't apply to you. – Oblivious Sage Feb 28 '14 at 13:17

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.