Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Can the spirit companion move anytime the shaman takes a move action, or does it need to be a move action where the shaman moves?

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

As per the Q&A section in: linky

It moves up to your move speed when you take a move action

Thus, as it explicitly notes a "move action" it only moves when you take a move action. However, it can be any move action. Take a look at the Dragon Article they reference for more details. Unfortunately, the wording here is pretty unambiguous.

share|improve this answer

"When you take a move action, you can also move the spirit a number of squares equal to your speed."

So, not a separate action, just any time the shaman moves, the spirit companion may also move.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.