Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Bull rush says that the character shifts into the vacated space.

Is this shift optional? (It became highly important when there was a Wall of Fire last night!)

share|improve this question
Based on the multitude of questions you and your friends have posted, it seems like last night was a really interesting night! – Iszi Oct 13 '10 at 22:01
@Iszi We usually generate a fair number, was better about writing them down this time. :) I get a lot dumber when I'm DMing and make some bone headed calls too! – Pat Ludwig Oct 13 '10 at 23:22
up vote 4 down vote accepted

To clarify: all non-forced movement is optional. Only when the power text explicitly requires that you move the full distance (and I couldn't find any instances of the term "must") Thus, any movement that is not forced movement is optional.

As per Move in the glossary:

If a power notes a distance that you or an ally moves willingly (for example, “you shift 2 squares”), the character allowed to move can decide to move all, some, or none of that distance. Similarly, if a power forcibly moves an enemy (for example, “you push the target 3 squares”), you can decide to move the enemy all, some, or none of that distance.

Inasmuch as bull rush is a push 1 for the enemy, and then you shift into their square, it seems to fall squarely under the move rules, and thus isn't required. There are no feats that contradict that assumption. Should I contact cust serv for you? (Replies tend to be spotty and inconsistent, but if your GM isn't happy with the move ruling...)

share|improve this answer
As an example of forced movement that must occur see Lightning Lure[DDI]. If you don't pull the target adjacent (or can't do so for whatever reasons) you've just wasted your standard action. – user660 Oct 14 '10 at 6:05
I think the best explanation is a bit further down in the Move definition - "If a power notes the destination for your or an ally’s move ... the character allowed to move decides either to move to that destination or not." I think that covers this situation exactly. Thanks – Pat Ludwig Oct 14 '10 at 19:57

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.