Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Ok so the kingdom building rules here http://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/other-rules/kingdom-building#TOC-Farm- States the following (Emphasis mine)

Terrain improvements are changes to a hex that improve the land for your kingdom's use, such as cultivating fields, digging mines, and clearing forests for lumber. The following list describes common improvements. An improvement marked with an asterisk (*) can share the same hex as other improvements.

After this farms is listed with an *. My question is by the wording provided does it mean other as in only 1 of each improvement is allowed or would another farm count as an 'other improvement'

share|improve this question
2  
If the rules don't state a limit to the number of improvements, it probably means one of each of the *'d improvements. –  DampeS8N Mar 4 at 19:45

2 Answers 2

up vote 4 down vote accepted

Note that I have only just glanced over the Kingdom Builder rules, but I see two aspects to this question.


On the one hand, as was stated by SevenSidedDie earlier, which I will just full quote here for simplicity and completeness:

Farms aren't individual farms in that passage, they're a type of change to the hex. You can only add farms to a hex once—after that, the hex has farms.


One the other hand, there's this bit of text in the Watchtower entry:

Watchtower*

A Watchtower flies your flag, is a safe place for your patrols, and establishes your power on the frontier. a Watchtower cannot share a hex with a Fort or another Watchtower.

The fact that it is explicitly forbidden to "stack" watchtowers on a single hex, implies that it is not forbidden to have multiple farm improvements (or roads, highways, fisheries, etc.) on the same Hex.


So as far as I am concerned:

By RAW, you can. The Rules don't mention a limit, even though they explicitly do in a (mostly*) equivalent case.

By RAI, you cannot. The rules not mentioning any kind of limit leaves us with exactly two non-arbitrary** choices: "One", or "None"

However, common sense dictates that there is limit on the number of farms on a single hex, because there is a natural limit to the area, and a less natural limit to the efficiency of your farms (due to technology, magic, amount of slaves you can efficiently throw at it, etc.). Similar logic can be applied to the other starred improvements as well, e.g. once you have turned the whole hex into a parking lot, you can't place any more highways.

*Unlike Farms, Watchtowers grant a one-time bonus as well.

**For any other limit N, you could equally justify N+1.

share|improve this answer

Farms aren't individual farms in that passage, they're a type of change to the hex. You can only add farms to a hex once—after that, the hex has farms.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.