Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Does each target in the AoE of an Entangling Shot roll independently for the 2d4 rounds of entanglement, or does the PC roll one duration shared by all who fail the reflex save?

share|improve this question

Roll once.

This is, as far as I know, not written down in the Core Rulebook. The reasons for doing so are:

  1. It's more convenient.
  2. The general understanding is that rolls other than the attack roll itself represent the variance present in the effectiveness of the attack. The variance in how well the attack affects each individual target is represented by saving throws (or damage reduction).
  3. It has been established by decades of convention. (For damage rolls.)

It is not relevant to the rules scope of the Pathfinder RPG, but you may still be interested to know that this rule did turn out to be codified in the fourth edition of D&D.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.