Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I have a player who plays a multi-class swordmage/warden. Each class gives him the capability to mark a target. Last encounter he used the marking ability of the swordmage as well as the marking ability of the warden to mark one enemy with each.

I understand that marking can't stack, but can a player mark two different targets? I always assumed if you mark a target, then you somewhat focus on it, right? So marking a second target should not be allowed, or should it?

Also to mention one marking ability is for close target, the other is for a rather distant target, like an archer.

share|improve this question
The key here is the lack of ability to enforce multiple marks. Most classes only get to enforce their marks 1/round (via immediate actions). – wax eagle Mar 17 '14 at 14:27
up vote 9 down vote accepted

There is no rule limiting the number of targets an individual can have marked at any given time.

A number of abilities, including the Warden's basic mark ability Nature's Wrath, explicitly state the possibility of marking multiple targets:

a warden can mark each adjacent enemy until the end of the warden's next turn.

Marks from multiple sources are no exception to this.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.