Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In Pathfinder I've seen the phrase "adds 1-1/2 the creature's strength bonus on damage rolls"

Does that mean multiply by 1.5?

share|improve this question
    
Welcome to the site! Please take a look at the tour and the help; they're a useful introduction to the site. And once you have 20+ rep, feel free to join the chat! –  Tridus Mar 21 at 0:25
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 28 down vote accepted

Yes.

When the rules say "1-1/2" they mean 1.5 times. Remember to round down.

This is a holdover from 3.5, which also phrased it that way. Frankly I think "1.5" or "one and a half" would have been a better choice, precisely because it would avoid this kind of confusion, but that's neither here nor there.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks, it's a weird way of writing it on their part so I appreciate the clarification! –  Nerevar Mar 20 at 23:41
3  
To be precise, it's a holdover from the d20 SRD which doesn't use typographical fractions (to maintain a lowest-common-denominator of text formatting) and favours numbers over words (for brevity/clarity); in D&D 3.5 they do use "one and a half times". Partly this is because an SRD isn't a teaching document, but rather a reference for those who have already learned the game, so it's written assuming the reader already knows this rule. –  SevenSidedDie Mar 21 at 4:38
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.