Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Can I use spells whose target is "creature touched" or "living creature touched" on myself?

share|improve this question

3 Answers 3

up vote 5 down vote accepted

Yes.

It's a two-step definition:

From Getting Started:

Creature: A creature is an active participant in the story or world. This includes PCs, NPCs, and monsters.

So yes, yourself, as a PC, are a Creature.

From Magic - Range

Touch: You must touch a creature or object to affect it.

So as long as you can touch a creature, including yourself, you can affect it with the spell.

share|improve this answer

Yes. All spells with a range of touch can be cast on yourself if you fulfill the other requirements. In fact, it might be better to say, having a range of touch isn't enough to disqualify you from being affected. The only time this may be a problem is if you are tied up or for some other reason not able to touch your hand to yourself - but in most of these cases you wouldn't be able to cast any spells anyway.

You can automatically touch one friend or use the spell on yourself, but to touch an opponent, you must succeed on an attack roll. SRC

share|improve this answer
    
While I totally agree, I tried finding an official source stating this... and have failed so far. Would be a great thing to add if you know one. –  leokhorn Mar 21 at 20:37
    
@leokhorn Touch Spells in Combat: "You can automatically touch one friend or use the spell on yourself, but to touch an opponent, you must succeed on an attack roll." Here. –  Hey I Can Chan Mar 21 at 20:40
    
@HeyICanChan: I actually meant about "creature" being equal to PC. But nevermind, found it and made it an answer. –  leokhorn Mar 21 at 20:43
    
@HeyICanChan I've edited it in. Thanks for finding it, I'm hopeless at remembering where rules quotes are :/ –  Dakeyras Mar 21 at 20:43
1  
The rules don't seem to actually say you have to touch the target with your hand, so, even assuming that your body doesn't automatically count as touching itself all the time, you could claim to, say, touch your palate with your tongue, or your lower eyelid with the upper one. –  Ilmari Karonen Mar 22 at 19:37

Yes, you can. There are just two things to keep in mind:

  • You have to otherwise be a valid target for the spell. You cannot, for example, touch yourself with a spell that targets "Living creature touched" if you are undead.
  • Touching is kind of like a somatic component that can't be Stilled. Even though the charge is already in your hand (or however you deliver it), you still have to go through the motion to discharge it. If you can't touch yourself, then you can't touch yourself.
share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.