Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I am currently reading 'Gurps 4th Magic' and the spell 'Illusion Disguise' just says that you have to create a basic illusion and then use 'Illusion Disguise' to superimpose it.

However it never talks about the wearer. Could he just resist it? I can imagine a few situations where it is useful to put an illusion on someone. For example to discredit them in front of a crowd etc.

So, is there a rule that stops them from just putting it on anyone they want or would that fall into houserules?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 6 down vote accepted

It seems like no, an unwilling subject can't resist an Illusion Disguise spell. Pages 13–14 describe Resisted Spells, but unlike some spells that have a target (e.g., mind control spells), Illusion Disguise does not have a Resistance note.

That said, if you're the GM and your world's magic works in such a way that you think the target should be able to resist, it's as easy as saying so. The rules on pages 13–14 describe how to handle it, and you only need to decide which of HT or Will should be use to resist with (Will seems like the sensible choice here).

share|improve this answer
    
Okay, that's what I thought. Thanks for the answer! –  Neikos Mar 23 at 3:14
    
Would the target necessarily be aware of the spell cast in your world? That would be an important data point as to whether the target 'should' be able to resist. –  EFH Mar 25 at 18:52
    
@EFH Not in GURPS (barring the usual GM powers to change that, of course). Same page cited above: even unconscious subjects can resist a Resisted spell. –  SevenSidedDie Mar 25 at 22:45

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.