Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

These two things allow a paladin to target Divine ChallengeDDI on two enemies.

During his turn the paladin "must engage the target" or the mark ends and cannot be used next turn.

My question is, with these two powers must the paladin engage both targets each turn, or will one suffice?

Also, if he must engage both, what happens if he engages one? Does the mark stay on the one engaged enemy?

share|improve this question

Some difficult digging produced this thread. To summarize arguments:

Divine Challenge pertinent text:

On your turn, you must engage the target you challenged or challenge a different target. To engage the target, you must either attack it or end your turn adjacent to it. If none of these events occur by the end of your turn, the marked condition ends and you can’t use divine challenge on your next turn.

Given that the rules have no provision for any other way of extending marking and that neither power provides for mark extensions, and that, unusually, epic paladin does not have a multi-mark feat, it would suggest that only those conditions hold. However, maintaining mark on one target would count, functionally as "challenging a different target" for purposes of the second sentence from perspective of the originally challenged target, and thus, you would not be invoking a penalty if you failed to maintain /both/ targets.

I can get confirmation from Cust Serv if you'd like additional logic, however.

Additional interesting discussion, who is damaged when one person violates mark. This comes under the heading of "don't even try to ask your GM?" But is an interesting discussion.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.