Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

For example, in Bestiary 1, the Yeti has the melee attack 2 claws +9(1d6+4 plus 1d6 cold)

Does the 2 claws part mean he gets that attack doubled? Does the +9 go to attack bonus and damage, or just attack bonus?

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted

As follows

Your example reads:

melee attack 2 claws +9(1d6+4 plus 1d6 cold)

This indicates first that the attack is a melee attack, made with all the rules thereof and within the yeti's reach.

The "2 claws" section is the number and type of attack it is. In this case, we have 2 natural attacks, both of which are claws - making them primary natural attacks that deal slashing damage. The PFSRD entry can tell you more.

The "+9" is the attack bonus of that/those attacks. If the yeti attacks with 1 claw, it's at +9; if it attacks with both claws, both attack at +9 (see the rules on full attacks and primary natural attacks).

The part in parentheses is the damage of those attacks. The first part is the base slashing damage of the claws plus the yeti's strength modifier. The second part is additional cold damage that is not modified when part of a critical hit (see the rules on critical hits).

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.