Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I'm trying to make a character based on STR and DEX to do great unarmed melee attacks. Now I am wondering: does the Hammerblow talent of the soldier stack with the Mighty Swing feats?

As far as I know, the hammerblow doubles my STR bonus as long as the character wields no weapon.

In order to make it clear, here is my character sheet:

Large Yuzzem soldier 6 Force 8 Init +10; Senses scent; Perception +2 Languages Draethos, Twi'lek, Yuzz

Defenses Ref 20 (flat-footed 16), Fort 18, Will 15 hp 58; Threshold 23

Speed 6 squares Melee claw +10 (1d12+8) or Melee claw +14 (1d12+8) with Hammerblow or Melee claw +10 (2d12+8) with Mighty Swing Ranged by weapon +8 Fighting Space 2x2; Reach 1 square Base Atk +6; Grp +15 Atk Options Echani Training, Hammerblow, Melee Defense, Mighty Swing, Unrelenting Assault

Abilities Str 19, Dex 15, Con 10, Int 14, Wis 8, Cha 8 Special Qualities expert climber, physical intimidation Talents Hammerblow, Melee Smash, Unrelenting Assault Feats Armor Proficiency (light, medium), Echani Training, Martial Arts I, Martial Arts II, Melee Defense, Mighty Swing, Weapon Proficiency (pistols, rifles, simple weapons) Primary Skills Climb +12 (may take 10 even when distracted or threatened), Initiative +10, Jump +12, Persuasion +2 (+7 to intimidate), Stealth +0, Swim +12, Use Computer +10

share|improve this question
up vote 2 down vote accepted

Short Answer: Yes.

The Hammerblow Talent from Legacy Era: Campaign Guide says

If you are unarmed and holding no items, you double your Strength bonus on unarmed attack rolls.

while the Mighty Swings feat from Star Wars: Saga Edition Core Rulebook says

You can spend two swift actions in the same round to deal +1 die of damage on your next melee attack in the same round. The effects of this feat do not stack with the extra damage provided by the Rapid Strike feat.

There isn't an explicit nor implicit obstacle to the stacking of this two things.

The first requires a condition: Not holding a weapon or an item.

The second requires an action expenditure: 2 swifts.

As long as your character can satisfy both (an easy task, I'd say ^^), he will receive double Strength bonus on his unarmed attacks and an extra die of damage :)

share|improve this answer
Thank you for the clarification :) – DonnieRich Mar 29 '14 at 0:33

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.