Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I've heard people who run games where they don't count armor that you wear in your carry weight and people who do. I'm wondering what the RAW would state.

share|improve this question
    
Have you ever tried wearing heavy armor for a long time? It's heavy! Well-balanced and distributed (if it's made well), but still, not counting a 50lbs steel casing against your carrying capacity seems a little insane to me. –  Paul Z Jun 3 at 14:28

2 Answers 2

up vote 8 down vote accepted

It Counts

From the SRD:

Encumbrance by Weight: If you want to determine whether your character's gear is heavy enough to slow him down more than his armor already does, total the weight of all the character's items, including armor, weapons, and gear.

share|improve this answer

Yes, they count.

I think this question and many of your other questions can be answered by the general rule of RPG systems.

If the game doesn't say there's an exception, there's not an exception. The way the game works is to lay out general rules, and then state explicit exceptions. If the exception isn't stated, then the general rule applies.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.