I am a DM with a 2nd lvl priest. I want my priest to be able to cast a remove disease spell off of a scroll that he will find. Can he do this? Where is the rule?
- Anybody can ask a question
- Anybody can answer
- The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
Yes, by making a caster level check and meeting some requirements
The relevant rules are all in the Magic Items - Scrolls section of the DMG. Here's a copy from the SRD. There are two steps:
Read Magic is a level 0 Cleric spell, so your player can prepare and cast it to perform this step. They could also use the Spellcraft skill instead, but a DC 23 Spellcraft check can be difficult for a level 2 Cleric to make.
Assuming you're giving out a Divine scroll, this is no problem.
Clerics have Remove Disease on their spell list, so this is no problem.
Remove Disease is a third level Cleric spell, so your Cleric requires 13 Wisdom to meet this requirement.
Being a third level spell, the caster level requirement is 5. You can tell that because it's a third level spell, and Clerics get third level spells at level 5.
Your Cleric is likely a level 2 Cleric, thus has a caster level of 2. That isn't sufficient to meet this requirement, so your Cleric will have to make a caster level check of DC 6 (5 + 1). A caster level check is 1d20 + caster level, or 1d20+2. Only needing a a total of 6, a 4 or better on the dice will let your Cleric cast the spell. Those are good odds.
At Cleric level 5, your player can cast the scroll without having to make the check.
If your Cleric doesn't meet the other requirements, or someone else wants to use the scroll, they have to use Use Magic Device instead.
protected by Brian Ballsun-Stanton Apr 4 '14 at 0:41
Thank you for your interest in this question.
Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site (the association bonus does not count).
Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?