Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The epic level feat Spell Accuracy from the PHB says:

Benefit: You can omit a number of squares from the area of effect of any of your area or close wizard powers. This number can’t exceed your Wisdom modifier.

Wall is defined under "Areas of Effect" on page 272 of the PHB along with bursts and blasts, but it carries the following condition:

Each square of the wall must share a side—not just a corner—with at least one other square of the wall...

Does the feat override that requirement for the wall?

For example, say I have a Wisdom modifier of +3. Can I use Spell Accuracy to create a 3 square gap in the middle of my 8 square long Wall of Fire so I don't kill the unconscious, dying paladin in the middle?

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted

I would rule that yes, you could create the gap. But the squares in the gap would count towards your eight total squares of wall.

The way I interpret the feat to work:

  • Determine the area of effect for the spell.
  • Choose squares to omit.
  • Apply damage to all squares that haven't been omitted.

In your example, you would create a valid eight-square wall of fire directly over the paladin. You would then omit the paladin's square and the two adjacent squares.

Disclaimer: I don't have any citations on this one. It's purely my interpretation of the wording of the feat.

share|improve this answer
I agree with this one. I believe it's a case of "specific overrides general" which is explicitly stated as a rule in PHB1. – Iszi Oct 18 '10 at 17:03

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.