Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Let's take for example Pathfinder level 2 half-orc Crossblooded Primal_fire-Orc sorcerer. He took elemental ray at level 1. How much damage he should do with it at level 2? There are several options:

  1. 1d6+1 fire,
  2. 1d6+1 fire +1 (orc arcana) +1 (Primal_fire arcana) +1 (two favored class orc options).
  3. 1d6+1 fire +1 (orc arcana) +1 (two favored class orc option)

Orc favored class option: Add +1/2 to fire spell damage.

Orc bloodline arcana. You gain the orc subtype, including darkvision 60 feet and light sensitivity. If you already have darkvision, its range increases to 90 feet. Whenever you cast a spell that deals damage, that spell deals +1 point of damage per die rolled.

Primal bloodline arcana. Whenever you cast a spell with an energy descriptor that matches your elemental bloodline’s energy type, that spell deals +1 point of damage per die rolled.

share|improve this question
    
Welcome to RPG.StackExchange.com Reveil. Please take a look at our About, it'll explain how things work here. I've also removed your side note as it's primarily opinion based, and not a valid question here. –  C. Ross Apr 13 at 20:17
    
I looked it through, but missed this part, thank you. Even so, I think this question was related to matter at hand. –  Reveil Apr 14 at 6:19
    
The question is fine. :-) –  C. Ross Apr 14 at 12:36
add comment

2 Answers 2

From what I can tell, you get the second option.

@Hey I Can Chan has listed all of the descriptions which clearly state these effects only happen when you cast a spell. Fortunately using a Spell-like ability is casting a spell.

There are two possible resources here. One is the d20pfsrd site which seems to have some older text.

"A spell-like ability has a casting time of 1 standard action unless noted otherwise in the ability or spell description. In all other ways, a spell-like ability functions just like a spell."

There's also the text on the Paizo site:

"Spell-like abilities are magical and work just like spells..."

And then they go on to detail lots of things like provoking attacks of opportunity and being able to "cast defensively" and the standard action required to use, the fact that it is susceptible to spell resistance, etc.

To be clear, there does seem to be some discussion about some of the details like using Rods to boost the SLA. But there's really nothing here about them not being cast. In fact, they can be interrupted like regular spells and they can even be "cast defensively".

As far as I am concerned, these are spells and should get your full bonuses for your various fire-boosting abilities.

share|improve this answer
add comment

The elemental bloodline special ability elemental ray reads

Elemental Ray (Sp): Starting at 1st level, you can unleash an elemental ray as a standard action, targeting any foe within 30 feet as a ranged touch attack. This ray deals 1d6 points of damage of your energy type + 1 for every two sorcerer levels you possess. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Charisma modifier.

Although it's a spell-like ability, the elemental ray special ability isn't a spell. The orc you describe inflicts 1d6+1 points of fire damage with it.

More information about spell-like abilities is available via this question: Are Spell-Like Abilities Actually Spells?

Class Features in Detail

Just to clarify, the orc bloodline sorcerer arcana reads

Whenever you cast a spell that deals damage, that spell deals +1 point of damage per die rolled.

The wildblooded archetype's primal elemental bloodline sorcerer arcana reads

Whenever you cast a spell with an energy descriptor that matches your elemental bloodline’s energy type, that spell deals +1 point of damage per die rolled.

And, finally, the orc sorcerer favored class ability reads

Add +1/2 point of fire damage to sorcerer spells cast that deal fire damage.

Emphasis in quotations mine. Maybe try some burning hands until you can scorching ray?

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks. In the end, I am only more confused. Because augmented summoning works on SLA (summoner)= SLA is a spell, your FAQ quote = SLA is not a spell, works as prerequisites like "must be able to cast lvl* arcane spell" = SLA is a spell. I think it will need a case to case FAQ clarification. –  Reveil Apr 14 at 10:48
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.