Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Basically, can a medium monk slide or push or pull a huge or gargantuan enemy?

Can any character (the example with my party was a monk) move (slide, push or pull) a bigger creature than him? in 3.5e you could only move a creature one size bigger than you, but this rule is not specified in 4e.

share|improve this question
up vote 9 down vote accepted

Unless the power says otherwise, yes.

Most powers do not make an exception based on creature size. However, a few do. The Fighter's Tide of Iron does (up to one size category larger than the PC). The always available Bull Rush has the same exception.

There is no rule in 4e related to size categories with respect to forced movement. If the power says slide, you slide; push, you push. Regardless to the size of the creature. If there are restrictions on who you can force to move, the power will lay them out.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.