Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

More specifically, Deathrattle Viper on MM1 page 240 makes a secondary attack vs Fortitude.

From my point of view this secondary attack should not be affected by Marked condition, since it's a poisonous effect that Bite applies to the victim's wound, even if it's stated "the deathrattle viper makes a secondary attack against the same target". It seems the only reason an attack roll takes place is to decide if the target's immune system resists the poison or not.

Am I mistaken?

share|improve this question
up vote 14 down vote accepted

Yes, it affects the attack roll. You're overthinking it.

Marked opponents take a -2 to attack rolls when making attacks that don't include their marker. Deathrattle Viper's secondary attack involves an attack roll. That attack roll takes a -2 if it doesn't include the marker.

The reason for the attack roll doesn't matter, and is entirely fluff. (Seriously: the rules about powers let you rewrite the flavour text.) It could be exploding shrapnel for all it matters.

share|improve this answer
That, my friend, is a very nice idea. Steampunking DnD and creating a robot viper that implants grenades on bite is quite interesting! – Necrofear04 Apr 15 '14 at 18:12

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.