Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Can a Paladin have more than one Smite working at the same time against different foes?

share|improve this question
    
can you add what smite is for those that don't quite know it off-hand? –  DForck42 Jun 14 '12 at 20:56
add comment

3 Answers

up vote 6 down vote accepted

It's not stated that they can't in the core rules, so I would say that you can if your level is high enough to warrant multiple uses of Smite per day.

share|improve this answer
    
I think so too. –  David Allan Finch Oct 20 '10 at 8:02
add comment

In my opinion it kind of goes against the intent of Smiting, but there seems to be no rules reason why you can't. Much the same way you can smite a target and then switch to attack another target to get an AC boost. If Paizo didn't want players to be able to do this they would have specified.

share|improve this answer
add comment

I don't believe so. RAW the attack/damage bonuses, though untyped, are from the same source and thus wouldn't stack... The deflection bonus, as it's clearly typed, certainly won't.

share|improve this answer
    
This is against different foes. I agree against the same foe this would be silly. –  David Allan Finch Oct 20 '10 at 7:59
3  
Oh, against DIFFERENT foes. Yes, then that's totally legal. –  mxyzplk Oct 20 '10 at 14:27
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.