Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

When interpreting a creature's reach is that the amount of feet it can attack beyond its own space?

For example, the Gorilla in the Bestiary 1 has a space 10ft and reach 10ft.

Does that mean that the Gorilla occupies squares in a 2x2 area and can attack anything within a 6x6 area (the 8 other 2x2 areas that surround him) similar to how a medium creature with reach of 5ft can reach every square around them totaling a 3x3 area?

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted

I assume you mean 'reach' and not 'range.' Let's go look at the Gorilla entry:

Melee 2 slams +3 (1d6+2) Space 10 ft.; Reach 10 ft.

So how does reach work? Well, it's explained in the rules, and the PFSRD has some helpful template pictures as well.

Short answer is yes, the gorilla is 2x2 and can attack within a 6x6 area.

share|improve this answer
Yes, thank you, that's what I meant. Thanks for the link and for clearing this up. Very helpful! – Nerevar Apr 17 '14 at 19:05

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.