Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I've read that they only get half the strength modifier to the damage roll but what about the attack roll?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 5 down vote accepted

Natural Attacks:

Most creatures possess one or more natural attacks (attacks made without a weapon). These attacks fall into one of two categories, primary and secondary attacks. Primary attacks are made using the creature’s full base attack bonus and add the creature’s full Strength bonus on damage rolls. Secondary attacks are made using the creature’s base attack bonus –5 and add only 1/2 the creature’s Strength bonus on damage rolls. If a creature has only one natural attack, it is always made using the creature’s full base attack bonus and adds 1-1/2 times the creature’s Strength bonus on damage rolls. This increase does not apply if the creature has multiple attacks but only takes one. If a creature has only one type of attack, but has multiple attacks per round, that attack is treated as a primary attack, regardless of its type.

Period. So half STR bonus to damage but no change in STR bonus to attacks.

You also probably could have verified this by looking at the stat block of any monster with secondary attacks and back-calculating their attack bonus.

share|improve this answer
1  
I was trying to back-calculate but kept getting the wrong results that's why I asked. I was forgetting to do the size modifier, thank you! –  Nerevar Apr 22 at 11:41
    
Some of the printed natural attack modifiers are pretty wonky, too. Bite attacks, notably. –  Jack Lesnie Apr 22 at 11:49
    
Ultimately, example statblocks in 3.x are notoriously flaky. It’s not a bad idea to try to confirm your understanding that way, but you are somewhat liable to trip yourself up with a monster where the designer decided to fudge the numbers (or miscalculated himself, or something was changed in errata and people forgot to update the monster, or whatever) –  KRyan Apr 22 at 12:14

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.