Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'm looking at the improved familiar feat and it says that, does that mean if I'm a LG character I can pick a familiar who is LG, NG, LN, or N?

share|improve this question
    
I'd say the answer below is complete and accurate. If you agree, you should accept the answer by clicking the check mark outline. –  EnvisionAndDevelop Apr 27 at 23:42
add comment

1 Answer 1

You Can!

If a character possesses an alignment that's Lawful Good, one step away on each axis means as a far away as Neutral for the Lawful component of Lawful Good, and as a far away as Neutral for the Good component of Lawful Good.

Here's the chart of alignment steps. While the text reads

that diagonal "steps" count as two steps. For example, a lawful neutral character is one step away from a lawful good alignment, and three steps away from a chaotic evil alignment.

the feat Improved Familiar reads

You may choose a familiar with an alignment up to one step away on each alignment axis (lawful through chaotic, good through evil).

Emphasis mine. Neutral is one step from Lawful on the L/N/C axis while Neutral is one step from Good on the G/N/E axis. Thus taking both steps along both axes allows a LG character to select a N improved familiar, despite the text's 2-step diagonal rule.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.