Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have a 5th Level Ranger/Psion playing in a Dungeons and Dragons 4e Eberron campaign.

The other day, we had a situation come up in a fight and I want to see if we handled it right. I had Snarling Wolf Stance active, was moving past an enemy, and triggered an opportunity attack. Snarling Wolf Stance says:

Effect: Until the stance ends, whenever an enemy hits or misses you with a close or a melee attack, you can make a melee basic attack against it as an opportunity action. You can then shift 3 squares, but must not end the shift adjacent to any enemy.

The attacker missed with the opportunity attack. I then made a melee basic in response, which hit, and proceeded to shift 4 squares (I have the Mark of Passage). That shift took me past 2 other enemies for which I would've triggered opportunity attacks had I kept walking, then I moved the remaining 3 squares of my original move after the shift ended.

So, basically, can I take an opportunity action, in particular one that involves movement, in the middle of my move, and can I continue moving after I resolve that action?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 6 down vote accepted

You could not have taken the opportunity action on your own turn

You cannot take opportunity actions on your own turn, so if you, on your turn, move in such a way that your stance is triggered, you can't use the opportunity action granted by the stance.

Thus the question about movement interruption is a moot point, though in general interruptions are resolved in sequence.

For example: you have this opportunity action, and you also have an immediate interrupt that says "when an enemy moves adjacent to you, you can shift 3 squares."

  1. An enemy attacks you.
  2. You retaliate with your stance, and start to shift away, but as soon as you get 1 square away, another enemy uses an interrupt to shift adjacent to you.
  3. You trigger your immediate interrupt and shift 3 squares away from the second enemy.
  4. You now resume your shift form the opportunity action, shifting 2 more squares away from the first enemy.

But, always remember: you cannot take opportunity or immediate actions (be they attacks, reactions, or interrupts) on your own turn!

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.