Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Some of them are a bit confusing. Take, for example, Ghoul Touch.

It states "Saving Throw Fortitude negates," but in the text it mentions that it "causes all living creatures in a 10-foot-radius spread to become sickened (Fortitude negates)."

So is the fortitude saving throw able to negate only the stench that causes sickness or the paralysis as well for the original target of the spell?

There are a few others that are a bit confusing like this so I'd appreciate the clarification.

share|improve this question
possible duplicate of Does the main target of the ghoul touch spell get a saving throw? – KRyan Apr 30 '14 at 19:48
up vote 6 down vote accepted

The Saving Throw line refers to how the spell functions for the Target. In the case of ghoul touch, the target may make a Fortitude save against the spell; if successful, the entire spell is negated. If not, the target is paralyzed and begins to release a sickening cloud.

The parenthetical has to do with the cloud’s saving throw, which is distinct from the spell’s saving throw. For example, imagine if ghoul touch did not involve a save at all, and a simple touch was sufficient. In this case, the Saving Throw text would be “None,” because the Target of the spell would not be offered a save. The cloud could still say (Fortitude negates), though, and then only those in the cloud (rather than the original target) would be offered a save, and only against the Sickening status of the cloud.

share|improve this answer
ok, makes sense, thanks for clearing this up – Nerevar Apr 30 '14 at 19:44

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.